cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Failed MySQL connection

Hello, I have been using GoDaddy for many years, including MySQL databases. This past Monday I suddenly couldn't update tables anymore, but websites still functioned. A little later I couldn't even access phpMyAdmin, and websites showed error messages.

So I called customer service. After a little digging, I was told that my stuff was moved from one server to another, it shouldn't take more than 24 hours. Ok, I thought, let's wait.

Tuesday, 24 hours later still no changes. Same today, Wednesday. I went to my GoDaddy user account and saw there is a new hostname. So I tried changing my sites sourcecode, but no luck. It still didn't connect. I even downloaded the "Code Sample" from the GoDaddy account page. Changed some variable names and uploaded it to server. Result: even the example code that GoDaddy provided could NOT connect.

"Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Can't connect to MySQL server on ..."

This is getting very frustrating. Not only did GoDaddy move stuff to another server (as the customer person told me), but it was without notification. And afterwards I am left with websites that do not work.

I would have preferred communication via message, but support doesn't give that option. I also don't have the time to wait on the phone for a long time.

I hope somebody from the company can help with this issue.

8 REPLIES 8
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Failed MySQL connection

Hi @FrustratedUser5. Sorry to hear you've had trouble with your migration. My suggestion would be to double check the connection string for your application. When the database is migrated, your database name, username, and password should all stay the same. However, the hostname you connect to will be different. Hope that helps. If not, feel free to provide more information. Others in the community may be able to provide you with additional suggestions.