cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Problem with Invalid SPF Record or rDNS settings

My website DNS is managed by GoDaddy. My website is hosted at Flywheel. My email is via Google. I am having legitimate email, sent and received, caught as spam.

Google’s G Suite Toolbox MX check is telling me that I do not have a valid SPF record (see attached screen grab below). Others have told me I am missing rDNS settings.

GoDaddy live chat support has told me that rDNS cannot be set up for my website domain records. FlyWheel say it is not in their control. Google… nothing… 

Yet I also see on GoDaddy’s forum reference to this article: “Our administrators configure reverse DNS on all of our email servers.”

https://www.godaddy.com/help/what-is-reverse-dns-2585? 

I am a novice with most of this, and suspect that “email server” is not the same as my arrangement. Nonetheless, I am confused. If my DNS is managed at GoDaddy, why not the rDNS? And if it is not GoDaddy, who else can sort out the rDNS records?

Or, is the problem unrelated to rDNS but with SPF records and the TXT record in my GoDaddy Domain Manager? The Google G Suite Toolbox has suggested a different TXT record to the one in my current GoDaddy domain manager records (see attached below).

Any advice welcome. Thank you!

StuartSquishtalks_Website_Records.pngSquishtalks_Website_DNS_Records_3.10.19.png

2 REPLIES 2
Community Manager
Community Manager
Solution

Re: Problem with Invalid SPF Record or rDNS settings

Hey @Stuart_C. Thanks for being part of GoDaddy Community! It looks like there's some confusion here on the various DNS records you can have, what they do, and who controls them. 

• rDNS (reverse DNS) - This is controlled by whoever controls the IP address for the URL in question. This is done on the IP providers side by serving PTR records