cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Renewing my Email Without Using Office 365

Hello,
I have a question about EMAIL and OFFICE.

I have a subscription to Office 365 Email Essential, for my  domain. And I have added a user: contact@mydomain.com to it. This subscription will expire soon.

I am not using the Office 365 services. I have Outlook 2013 installed on my laptop and I am using it to manage this email.

What will happen if I don't renew the email? would it stop working on my outlook? Am I able to only pay for the email storage without the 365 tools?

I am just trying to figure out why would I need to renew the Office 365 license since I already have a 2013 license that I use on my laptop.

Thank you very much for clarification

5 REPLIES 5
Super User II Super User II
Super User II
Solution

Re: Renewing my Email Without Using Office 365

Office 365 is your actual e-mail service. Outlook 2013 is just software to use that service. 

Outlook 2013 software uses the settings from your e-mail service provider, in this case Office 365, to download and mange your e-mails.

If you cancel Office 365 you will have no e-mail service -- so you do need Office 365 unless you are going to use another e-mail provider (such as ATT, Comcast, BellSouth, etc.).  You would then have to change your Outlook 2013 settings to use the new e-mail provider's incoming and outgoing SMTP server settings.

HTH!  ;-)

Judith
"Do one thing every day that scares you." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Hi, my Online Essentials expires soon, and I would like to downgrade to Email Essentials. In the renewal window the only 2 options available are Online Essentials and Business Premium, both features I don't need. I just need the Email. How could I do this, do I need to cancel my current Online Essentials and purchase the Email Essentials instead? Will my current email be transferred to the new type of account? 

Thank you!