cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Cant verify domain ownership.

Hi all,

I'm new to this so please be gentle with me.

I have registered with godaddy and purchased the SSL certificate for my domain. 

I have followed the instructions on the "Verify domain ownership" help page but when it comes to creating the directory named /.well-known/pki-validation/ in the highest level directory I get the error message that you can't use "/" in file or directory names.

Like I said I am new to this so my issue is probably a very basic one so hopefully someone can help!?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Community Manager
Community Manager
Solution

Re: Cant verify domain ownership.

Hi @Driptray Welcome to GoDaddy Community! Based on what you're asking, it seems likely that you are hosting your website with another provider. When instructions mention hosting directories and use "/", that is an indication of the directory path. You do not need to include the forward slash in your directory name. In this case, you want to create a file that is inside a folder named pki-validation, which is inside a folder named .well-known, which is inside the root directory for your website. Hope that helps. 

JesseW - GoDaddy | Community Manager | 24/7 support available at x.co/247support | Remember to choose a solution and give kudos.

Thanks @JesseW. My domain was purchased with another provider but the hosting is being done by GoDaddy. Thank you for clearing up the issue with the /, I followed the instructions and created the folders etc but could not verify the domain (got the message: "Unable to verify your domain. Please confirm that you have followed all steps listed below." so attempted the txt file way and same again!

Just to clarify: when creating the the TXT record the host is simply "@"? 

Community Manager
Community Manager